How Facebook and Watsapp reformed relations of an introvert family

Mine is an introvert family, where we don’t say ‘love you’  or ‘take good care’ or ‘good morning’ or ‘good night’  to each other. It’s not that we don’t feel the love or care, it’s just that we hesitate to transfer those feelings through words.Though, I’ve slowly learned the significance of words in cultivating a beautiful relationship, I’ve been hesitant to express my love towards them! And they too were shy! 😀 

This is very normal in a middle class Indian family. 

I remember, my father usually express his love and care by gently stroking the back of my head. My mother showcase love through her concerns towards me. Younger brother expresses his love in the form of orders and safety directions.;) However, from the last 6 months, I’ve witnessed a strong change in the way we understand and transfer our inner feelings towards each other. 

We have become more creative in crafting our feelings towards each other through Facebook video chat (as I stay away for my study) and Watsapp messages. We have opened up. A sense of comfort has aroused while sharing our beliefs, dreams, fears, pain and plans. 

Through Facebook, we came to knew about each others talents and inclinations. Like, I knew that my mother writes well in Hindi, brother loves music composition and father likes to discuss on social and political issues. Also, my family understood that I love nature and photography. They also noticed the witty side of me.In addition, we never wished birthdays in the mid of the night. Parents used to take us to the temple early morning, during any special occasions. However, this time, my brother sent me a self -created poem highlighting my potential, and how this has inspired him! 

The good thing this social media has done to our family is : We’ve left our hesitation to speak up. Now, we speak. We don’t keep things within. If we think that we can’t talk, we write it. If we think we should talk on it, we discuss it. Overall, we have become expressive. Parents have been quick to adopt and learn this new technology. My mother even updates her status on watsapp, about how her feelings or on things which are going through her mind! 

Though I’ve cursed FB (earlier), [Now I don’t, this is not the first time I’ve contradict myself, it’s an ongoing process and that’s the beauty of evolving into something new], however, I feel thankful to  social media platforms which promotes self-expression.  

One thought on “How Facebook and Watsapp reformed relations of an introvert family

Leave a Reply

